For Tickets Call


Blast Win Regular Season Title with 17-6 Win

The Baltimore Blast defeated the Missouri Comets, 17-6, Sunday at 1st Mariner Arena to win the 2010-11 MISL regular season title.  The Blast will host the 2010-11 MISL Championship Game on Friday, March 25th at 1st Mariner Arena.

With home-field advantage in the Championship Game on the line, Max Ferdinand led the Blast to their 15th win of the season.  The Blast jumped out to a 4-0 first-quarter lead on goals from Matt Watson and Robbie Aristodemo.  Jamar Beasley put the Comets on the scoreboard and cut the Blast lead to 4-2 midway through the quarter.

The Blast held the Comets scoreless in the second quarter and extended their lead to 11-2.  Adauto Neto scored first and Ferdinand ended the quarter with two goals, the first of which was a three-pointer.  Ferdinand also assisted Neto's goal and Neto assisted Ferdinand's second goal.

Neto scored again to open the second half and give the Blast a 13-2 lead before Geison Moura scored to make it 13-4.  Machel Millwood, on another assist from Ferdinand, made it 15-4 in the 12th minute of the third quarter.

Pat Healey scored in the fifth minute of the final quarter to make it 17-4 (assist to Ferdinand).  Leo Gibson scored late in the game to make it 17-6.

In other MISL news, the Milwaukee Wave beat the Omaha Vipers, 15-6, today.  With the loss, the Vipers have been eliminated from playoff contention and the Comets have claimed the third and final postseason berth.  The Wave and Comets will play each other in the Semifinals next week.

Blast vs. Comets, 2010-11:

December 11, 1st Mariner Arena - W, 13-12
December 29, Independence Events Center - W, 22-6
January 22, Independence Events Center - W, 15-13
March 13, 1st Mariner Arena - W, 17-6


7006 Golden Ring Road
Baltimore, MD 21237

Phone: 410-73-BLAST