For Tickets Call


William Vanzela Receives MISL Honors


Goalkeeper Is 2013-2014 PAA Champion

Baltimore – The Major Indoor Soccer League announced the first round of the 2013-14 MISL Award Winners on Monday as Baltimore Blast’s William Vanzela took home the top goalkeeper honor. Milwaukee Wave’s Ian Bennett and Missouri Comet's Leo Gibson, who were also recognized for their excellent seasons.

Vanzela had an outstanding season in goal for the Blast. The 2013 MISL Championship Series MVP set a record for the current era of the MISL with a 5.30 points-against average as he helped the Blast claim the MISL regular season championship. Vanzela’s mark was almost half that of his nearest rival, the Milwaukee Wave’s Marcel Feenstra (10.06) as he recorded a pair of shutouts in 15 appearances.

Vanzela and the defending MISL champion Blast kick off the 2014 MISL Playoffs on Friday night as they open their series against the Syracuse Silver Knights at The Oncenter War Memorial at 7:30 p.m. ET. The action then switches to Baltimore Arena next Tuesday, March 11 for Game 2 and a potential mini-game should the teams split the opening two games of the series.

The remainder of the 2013-14 MISL Award Winners, including MVP, Rookie of the Year, Coach of the Year, Defender of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year, the All-Rookie Team and All-MISL Teams will be announced prior to the 2014 MISL Championship Series.

MISL 2013-14 Regular Season Honors 

Scoring Champion

Leo Gibson, Missouri Comets


Assist Champion

Leo Gibson, Missouri Comets

Golden Boot

Ian Bennett, Milwaukee Wave


PAA Champion
William Vanzela, Baltimore Blast.


Read full MISL article:



7006 Golden Ring Road
Baltimore, MD 21237

Phone: 410-73-BLAST