For Tickets Call


Blast Finish Regular Season with 19-4 Loss

The Baltimore Blast ended the 2008-09 NISL regular season with a 19-4 loss to La RaZa Sunday night at the Monterrey Arena.  Monterrey and Rockford will play each other in the first round of the 2009 NISL playoffs with the winner advancing to play the Blast in the Championship Game on April 11 at 1st Mariner Arena.  Mark Ughy led La RaZa on Sunday with three goals and two assists while Rich Lesmes and PJ Wakefield scored the only two Blast goals.

La RaZa scored early and often, recording four unanswered goals to take an 8-0 first-quarter lead.  Jorge Duran, playing in just his fourth game for Monterrey, opened the scoring at the 1:23 mark and Ughy added a goal less than four minutes later to put La RaZa on top, 4-0.  Byron Alvarez and Armando Teran added goals in the quarter while Jose Bontii and the Monterrey defensive unit held the Blast scoreless for the first 16 minutes of play.

Lesmes, playing in just his fourth Blast game, put the Blast on the scoreboard at the 1:08 mark of the second quarter and Wakefield added a goal to cut the lead to 8-4 at halftime.  Lesmes' goal was his second goal in as many games.  

Gustavo Rosales ended the Blast's rally with a third-quarter goal that extended Monterrey's lead to 10-4.

The fourth quarter was all Monterrey as La RaZa scored four goals, including a late three-pointer against Baltimore's sixth-attacker offense to claim the 19-4 victory and a place in the 2009 NISL postseason.  Ughy scored twice in the final quarter to tally three goals and two assists on the night and Teran and Victor Quiroz added late goals.
Fans can listen to the 2009 NISL Championship Game live on
Tickets for the Championshp Game are available by calling 410-73-BLAST or online at

7006 Golden Ring Road
Baltimore, MD 21237

Phone: 410-73-BLAST