For Tickets Call


Sagu Named 2009 NISL Goalkeeper of the Year

Sagu Named 2008-09 NISL Goalkeeper of the Year
Blast Keeper Anchored League-Leading Defense and Led Team to Championship

The National Indoor Soccer League (NISL) announced that Baltimore Blast goalkeeper Sagu has been voted the 2008-09 NISL Goalkeeper of the Year. The 36-year-old native of Brazil led the Blast’s League-leading defense en route to his second consecutive Goalkeeper of the Year honor.  The Blast will host the Rockford Rampage in the 2009 NISL Championship at 1st Mariner Saturday night.

Sagu gave up just 50 goals in 15 games this season and led the NISL with 11 wins, a 7.48 points against average and a 79.1 save percentage.  He was also named First-Team All-NISL and the December NISL Goalkeeper of the Month.  Last season, Sagu was named MISL Goalkeeper of the Year after he led the League with an 8.32 points against average, ranked second with a 74.1 save percentage and tied to rank third with 14 wins.  

Prior to joining the Blast, Sagu played for the Dallas Sidekicks in the MISL and the WISL, earning WISL Goalkeeper of the Year honors in 2000 and 2001.  He was named Second-Team All-MISL in 2006 and 2007 and has posted two shutouts in his career.  

To determine winners of the postseason awards, members of the media, NISL coaches and team personnel were asked to cast votes for first-place (worth five points), second-place (three points), and third-place (one point) for NISL Goalkeeper of the Year. Sagu received the most first-place votes and the most voting points overall in polling for the award.

Players Receiving Goalkeeper of the Year Votes:
Sagu, Baltimore Blast  - 59 points
Sanaldo, Rockford Rampage - 30 points
Peter Pappas, Philadelphia KiXX - 12 points
Jose Bontii, Monterrey La RaZa - 3 points

About the National Indoor Soccer League
The National Indoor Soccer League was launched in September of 2008 and consists of five founding members; the Baltimore Blast, La RaZa de Monterrey, Philadelphia KiXX, Rockford Rampage and the Massachusetts Twisters.  The NISL has formed a working relationship with the United Soccer Leagues (USL) and has received provisional membership in the United States Soccer Federation (USSF).

The NISL kicked off its inaugural season on November 15th and concluded on March 29th.  The 2009 NISL Championship Series consisted of three of the five NISL clubs competing in two rounds, the Semifinal Round and the Championship Game (April 11).  The Rockford Rampage defeated the Monterrey La RaZa in the Semifinals and to advance to play the Baltimore Blast in the Championship Game.  The Blast claimed the regular season title and earned an automatic bye to host the Championship Game at 1st Mariner Arena on Saturday, April 11.  

2009 NISL Championship Game:
Saturday, April 11 at 1st Mariner Arena, 7:35 p.m. ET, Baltimore Blast vs. Rockford Rampage


7006 Golden Ring Road
Baltimore, MD 21237

Phone: 410-73-BLAST