The National Indoor Soccer League (NISL) announced  the All-NISL teams for the 2008-09 regular season.  The First-Team is highlighted by Baltimore Blast goalkeeper Sagu who anchored the Blast’s League-leading defense and Monterey forward Byron Alvarez who led the NISL with 56 points this season.  The All-NISL Teams were selected following a formal voting process that polled members of the media, as well as NISL coaches and general managers.  

Joining Sagu and Alvarez on the First-Team are forward Machel Millwood (Baltimore Blast), midfielder Ricardinho (Philadelphia KiXX) and defenders Genoni Martinez (Monterrey La RaZa) and Pat Morris (Philadelphia KiXX).  Voters were asked to select to complete teams of All-NISL players; a first-team vote was worth two points and a second-team vote was worth one point.  Each voter was asked to choose one goalkeeper, two defenders and three midfielders/forwards for each team.

The All-NISL Second-Team features goalkeeper Sanaldo (Rockford Rampage), defenders PJ Wakefield (Baltimore Blast) and Tijani Ayegbusi (Rockford Rampage), midfielder Matthew Stewart (Rockford Rampage) and forwards Hewerton Moreira (Philadelphia KiXX) and Bato Radoncic (Rockford Rampge).  Stewart, who earned the most votes among the Second-Team, led the Rampage and ranked second in the League with 53 points in 16 games this season.  

The Rockford Rampage has the most All-NISL players this season (four on the Second-Team), followed by Baltimore and Philadelphia with three each and Monterrey with two.  The Baltimore Blast clinched the regular season title and will host the Rampage in the 2009 NISL Championship Game on Saturday.  Rockford defeated the Monterrey La RaZa, two-games-to-one, in last week’s Semifinals.

First-Team All-NISL:
Goalkeeper - Sagu, Baltimore Blast
Defender - Pat Morris, Philadelphia KiXX
Defender - Genoni Martinez, Monterrey La RaZa
Midfielder - Ricardinho, Philadelphia KiXX
Forward - Byron Alvarez, Monterrey La RaZa
Forward - Machel Millwood, Baltimore Blast

Second-Team All-NISL:
Goalkeeper - Sanaldo, Rockford Rampage
Defender - PJ Wakefield, Baltimore Blast
Defender - Tijani Ayegbusi, Rockford Rampage
Midfielder - Matthew Stewart, Rockford Rampage
Forward - Hewerton Moreira, Philadelphia KiXX
Forward - Bato Radoncic, Rockford Rampage

About the National Indoor Soccer League
The National Indoor Soccer League was launched in September of 2008 and consists of five founding members; the Baltimore Blast, La RaZa de Monterrey, Philadelphia KiXX, Rockford Rampage and the Massachusetts Twisters.  The NISL has formed a working relationship with the United Soccer Leagues (USL) and has received provisional membership in the United States Soccer Federation (USSF).

The NISL kicked off its inaugural season on November 15th and concluded on March 29th.  The 2009 NISL Championship Series consisted of three of the five NISL clubs competing in two rounds, the Semifinal Round and the Championship Game (April 11).  The Rockford Rampage defeated the Monterrey La RaZa in the Semifinals to advance to play the Baltimore Blast in the Championship Game.  The Blast claimed the regular season title and earned an automatic bye to host the Championship Game at 1st Mariner Arena on Saturday, April 11.  

2009 NISL Championship Game:
Saturday, April 11 at 1st Mariner Arena, 7:35 p.m. ET
Baltimore Blast vs. Rockford Rampage

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

August 2018
June 2018
May 2018
April 2018
March 2018
February 2018
January 2018
December 2017
November 2017
October 2017
September 2017
August 2017
April 2017
March 2017
February 2017
January 2017
December 2016
November 2016
October 2016
September 2016
August 2016
July 2016
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
October 2015
September 2015
August 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
May 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
August 2010
July 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010
December 2009
November 2009
October 2009
September 2009
July 2009
April 2009
March 2009
February 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
October 2008
September 2008