For Tickets Call


Byron Alvarez Named 2009 NISL MVP

Byron Alvarez Named 2008-09 National Indoor Soccer League MVP
La RaZa Forward led the NISL with 56 Points

The National Indoor Soccer League (NISL) announced that Monterrey La RaZa forward Byron Alvarez has been voted the 2008-09 NISL Most Valuable Player. The 30-year-old native of Mexico, City recently completed his fourth indoor soccer season, his second with Monterrey.  

Alvarez, who was also named First-Team All-NISL, totaled 56 points on 22 goals and 11 assists in 18 regular-season games.  He ranked first among all NISL scorers in points, total goals and two-point goals.  Alvarez also ranked second on the La RaZa in assists.  

Alvarez began his indoor career with the Chicago Storm in 2004-05 and spent two seasons in Chicago before taking a one-season hiatus for the 2006-07 campaign and joining La RaZa for the 2007-08 season.  In four seasons, Alvarez has played in 83 games and recorded 68 goals and 29 assists.  In last season’s Championship, Alvarez recorded two goals and one assist in Monterrey’s 14-11 loss to the Baltimore Blast.

To determine winners of the postseason awards, members of the media, NISL coaches and general managers were asked to cast votes for first-place (worth five points), second-place (three points) and third-place (one point) for the NISL MVP.

Top Three Players Receiving MVP Votes:
Byron Alvarez, Monterrey La RaZa - 34 points
Matthew Stewart, Rockford Rampage - 26 points
Sagu, Baltimore Blast - 24 points

About the National Indoor Soccer League
The National Indoor Soccer League was launched in September of 2008 and consists of five founding members; the Baltimore Blast, La RaZa de Monterrey, Philadelphia KiXX, Rockford Rampage and the Massachusetts Twisters.  The NISL has formed a working relationship with the United Soccer Leagues (USL) and has received provisional membership in the United States Soccer Federation (USSF).

The NISL kicked off its inaugural season on November 15th and concluded on March 29th.  The 2009 NISL Championship Series consisted of three of the five NISL clubs competing in two rounds, the Semifinal Round and the Championship Game (April 11).  The Rockford Rampage defeated the Monterrey La RaZa in the Semifinals to advance to play the Baltimore Blast in the Championship Game.  The Blast claimed the regular season title and earned an automatic bye to host the Championship Game at 1st Mariner Arena on Saturday, April 11.  

2009 NISL Championship Game:
Saturday, April 11 at 1st Mariner Arena, 7:35 p.m. ET
Baltimore Blast vs. Rockford Rampage


7006 Golden Ring Road
Baltimore, MD 21237

Phone: 410-73-BLAST